back to the grind

Things have been so busy around here, but it’s hard to believe I haven’t had time to write even one short post. Considering that I’ve spent on average 10-12 hours per day working since last Thursday, I guess it’s not such a surprise. And taking pictures has been pushed even farther down my list of priorities. Mostly this is because at the end of a long day I just don’t even think about taking shots of my food – I just want to eat. But also we don’t have a very camera-ready set up where we live now, and I’m hoping that when we move we’ll be able to fix that.

Meantime I don’t think I’ll give an accounting of what all I’ve eaten since last I posted. This weekend I wasn’t very assiduous because finding places to work outside the house that also offer food I considered acceptable on the diet was pretty difficult. And at the end of the day, I started to get a little tired of salad. But I’m back at it now, and I think Monday was a pretty good day.

Day 15 (of 42)

  • Breakfast: skipped
  • Lunch: some trail mix (made it myself, with: mixed nuts, pistachios, coconut shavings, goji berries, dried mango, dried cherries, pumpkin seeds, sprouted watermelon seeds, date pieces), and an apple
  • Dinner: portobello mushroom pizzas, 1/2 c pineapple
  • Late Night Snack: peach crisp with topping of pumpkin spice granola (with pumpkin seeds, watermelon seeds, and coconut instead of oats)

Day 16 (of 42)

  • Breakfast: 1 c. pineapple, an ounce or so of aged cheddar cheese
  • Lunch: salad (chickpeas, kidney beans, peas, corn, carrots, cheese, hard-boiled egg, spring mix, red cabbage, romaine lettuce, ranch dressing)
  • Afternoon Snack: hot chocolate made with whole milk, cocoa powder, and coconut sugar
  • Dinner: mushroom-chard enchiladas
  • Late Night Snack: chocolate chia pudding (coconut milk, cocoa powder, a spoonful of coconut sugar, and chia seeds)

 

Portobello Pizzas

(serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 4 portobello mushrooms
  • 1 c. pizza sauce
  • 4 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • 1/2 c. chopped bell pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 c. grated mozzarella cheese
  • 4 oz. pepperoni

Directions:

  1. Scrape gills from portobello caps and remove stems. Drizzle each with olive oil, and broil for 5 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat remaining tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet. Add onions and cook several minutes, or until fragrant and beginning to become translucent. Add garlic and bell peppers and cook, stirring frequently, about five minutes or until vegetables have softened.
  3. Divide pizza sauce between portobellos, then divide onion and bell pepper mixture between them, and finally top with mozzarella cheese and pepperoni.
  4. Broil until cheese has melted and pepperoni is crisp around the edges.
Leave a Reply

