day 4

My major realization from Day 4 is that the things I picked to eliminate from my diet are things that make it extremely difficult to eat any food not strictly prepared at home. Now, this theoretically shouldn’t be a problem since I am home a lot of the time and can cook all my own meals. But things happen. Some days I’m out when I need to be eating dinner, or like a lot of people there are some days I just can’t face the thought of standing over a stove.

Then I was reminded that if I was really interested in determining the potential effects of gluten on my body, it would probably be best to eliminate it separately from sugar, etc. Maybe it’s an excuse, I don’t know. But the fact is that if I manage to be sugar-free, gluten-free, and vegan on any given day, I’ll be lucky. I don’t know if it’s just a lack of willpower and I should try to be stronger, or if it’s not a really big deal. The main point of keeping them out of my diet, after all, is to decrease the amount that I reach for those foods on a daily basis. Unfortunately, it’s leading to more reaching for potato chips and french fries. Oops.

Really, I think all I can do is just get up each morning and try to do better.

Food Diary, 9/6/12

  • 6pm, 3 oz. potato chips – 375 cal
  • 11pm, 2 slices veggie pizza – 420 cal
  • 11pm, 5 jalapeno poppers – 385 cal
  • 1pm, 4 dates – 95 cal
  • Total ~ 1275 cal
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    jamie said,

    You can do it! I agree, one thing at a time might be easier? đŸ˜‰ May I ask…did you once have a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin recipe posted here? I can’t seem to find it. Or maybe I found it somewhere else??? I get confused easily, LOL.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

