crispy honey beef

I first made this recipe over five years ago, and knew it was a keeper from the first bite, all the way through to the rice drenched in sauce that I licked up off the plate.  Literally, I believe I licked the plate the first time I made this.

I’m what you might call “fry-shy.”  In the past when I have fried things, they don’t really come out quite right because my oil is either too hot or too cool.  I also didn’t have a fry thermometer until recently.  I didn’t use it while making these, because I only shallow fried my beef, but for the first time, my pieces actually did come out crispy!  The sauce is easy to toss together while frying the beef, and then the veggies.

You may have sauce left over, and I made a tasty sort of fried rice dish with it, so I’d recommend saving it!

Crispy Honey Beef (serves 2)

I know this is a LOT of sweetener, but the sauce tastes more balanced than you might think.  Try to use a mild honey, otherwise it can overpower the other ingredients.  Or, you can substitute part or all of the honey with white or brown sugar, or agave nectar.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 12 oz. sirloin or flank steak, sliced thinly
  • oil for frying (about 1 c. for shallow frying, 4 c. for deep frying)
  • 1/4 c. soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. rice wine
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1 tbsp. chili-garlic paste
  • 1-2 tsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 small bell pepper, thinly sliced

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a medium saute pan.  Meanwhile, whisk cornstarch and salt in a small bowl.  Coat steak slices in cornstarch mixture and fry 5-7 minutes, or until deep golden.  Set aside.
  2. Pour out all but a thin film of oil on the bottom of the pan and add onion and bell pepper.
  3. In a small bowl, combine remaining ingredients.  When the onion and bell pepper are fairly soft, add the sauce and heat until it bubbles.  Add the steak and stir until coated with the sauce.  If the sauce is too thin, adding a cornstarch slurry will thicken it up (stir 1 tsp. cornstarch into 1 tbsp. cold water and add to the mixture; cook 30 seconds and repeat if necessary).
  4. Serve over rice or on a bed of broccoli and green beans, like we did.

 

Leave a Reply

