meyer lemon sherbet

I remember the first time I ever saw a Meyer lemon.  It was six or eight years ago now, and the tiny bowl of lemons was just sitting there on top of a big display of citrus fruits.  I was attracted to them by the deeper yellow color, almost orange, and the smooth skin.  Picking one up, I noticed immediately how fragrant and floral they were.  This year, I was lucky enough to get a nice bag full from an acquaintance who has a Meyer lemon tree, and needed to figure out what to do with them all.  Some I knew would be destined for a marmalade, but it was hot this past spring, and I needed something that would cool us down.

Having never made sherbet, I was surprised at how easy it was.  Because I’ve been focusing on lower-fat ice creams or sorbets, I had forgotten how very soft heavy cream keeps frozen desserts even after days or weeks in the freezer.  This particular recipe is very intensely lemony and sour.  You can decrease the ratio of lemon juice to other ingredients if you desire a more delicately-flavored sherbet.

Meyer Lemon Sherbet (makes about 1 qt.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup Meyer lemon juice (about 8 Meyer lemons)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan, combine lemon juice, water, and sugar.  Heat over medium until sugar has completely dissolved.  Pour into a bowl and refrigerate until cold.
  2. Combine lemon juice mixture and cream thoroughly, then freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.
Leave a Reply

