Blood Orange Brown Sugar Cranberry Sauce

This seemed like such a good idea.  Orange pairs so beautifully with cranberries, and with a surplus of fresh blood orange juice from breakfast, I thought the color and flavor would be a great match.  Brown sugar instead of white sugar would provide an extra depth of flavor, and it would all come together, perhaps with a sprinkling of candied ginger.

So what went wrong?  Uhh… I didn’t pay attention to it.  First of all, despite the blood orange juice not being terribly sour or bitter, it took entirely too much sugar to get the sauce to the sweetness desired.  The batch of cranberries I was using must have been particularly sour.  Once I’d finally gotten the sauce to the texture I was looking for, I left it on the stove over the Warm setting, and the next time I checked on it, it had definitely started to burn.  So I removed it from the heat.  By dinnertime, it had gelled quite significantly and the taste was… well, as I said, it had burnt somewhat.

Epic failure?  I’d say so, but not necessarily because of the recipe.  I still say the idea is great and sometime soon when I’m still craving cranberry, I’ll try it out again.

Blood Orange Brown Sugar Cranberry Sauce (makes 2 cups)

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz. cranberries (or 3 cups frozen)
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 6 oz. blood orange juice
  • 6 oz. water
  • 2 oz. minced candied ginger (optional)

Directions:

  1. Place cranberries, brown sugar, orange juice, and water into a saucepan over medium heat.  Bring to a simmer and cook 10 minutes or so until cranberries have popped.  Continue cooking to desired consistency.
  2. Taste for sweetness, and stir in ginger, if desired.
Leave a Reply

