Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin bread is one of the first quickbreads I ever made, and remains my very favorite.  The deep base squash flavor combined with autumnal spices is just delicious.  As with the zucchini bread I made earlier in the year, this recipe made an entirely too moist bread, I think from a combination of using applesauce for oil, honey for sugar, and spelt flour for all-purpose, all of which increase the total moisture content.

More specifically, using applesauce and honey increased the moisture content.  When baking with spelt flour, I’ve heard that you are supposed to use 25% less liquid in those recipes, but I have been making recipes that have no liquids in them.  So, I increase the spelt flour until the texture seems correct for what I’m making, and perhaps add a pinch more leavener.

Spelt Pumpkin Bread (makes 1 or 2 loaves – I don’t remember)

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c. spelt flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix all ingredients in the same bowl, careful not to overmix.
  3. Pour into a loaf pan (or two?  I forgot how many loaves this makes)
  4. Bake 45 minutes – 1 hour, or until toothpick comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

