Basic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Some days, you just want to bake cookies.  It doesn’t matter that the thermostat reads 80 because the afternoon sunshine has been streaming in through your windows for the past three hours.

This batter is, bar none, the most delicious batter I have ever tasted, the kind I sneak spoonfuls of when I go in to rotate my sheet pans.  It is so delicious, that I am at this very moment considering making a batch with egg white substitute (or just risk it, because after all the yolks add both texture and flavor) so that I can make cookie dough ice cream.  Say, does freezing kill salmonella?

This is the batter I’ve been using since last summer, when I decided that my previous best-batter-ever was faulty because it had instant pudding on the list of ingredients, and who knows what they put in there?  It was a foggy, drizzly, summer in the city and we were either just getting over or hadn’t yet experienced the horror of that summer’s early flu-bug, and dang it, I wanted some cookies.

Since then, I’ve decided I need to cook with more whole grains (other than wheat!) and alternative sweeteners.  That said, I haven’t yet experimented much with this recipe.  It’s so perfect, I’m afraid to mess with it, but after this batch, I think I’ll just force myself.  It’s so close to ideal that I couldn’t pass up making it even healthier.

Basic Chocolate Chip Cookies (makes about 2 dozen)

Okay, I admit it, I DID experiment with this recipe a little.  The batch I made today, I made with 1 cup spelt flour (an ancient wheat), 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup rolled oats, and used half chocolate chips, half raisins.

One additional note on texture.  If your kitchen is warm like mine was, and the dough is very soft, the cookies will spread a lot and be a little crispier and chewier.  I like my cookies soft and tender, and if you do, too, you’ll want to refrigerate your dough, about 15-20 minutes before you bake it.  Your dough balls should hold their shape on the baking sheet.

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c. butter, melted
  • 1 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c. chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325.  Lightly grease baking sheets.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift dry ingredients.
  3. In another medium bowl, mix butter and sugars until smooth.  Add vanilla and eggs and beat until light and creamy.
  4. Add dry ingredients and mix until almost completely combined.  Some of the dry ingredients should be visible on the top of the batter.
  5. Gently fold in chocolate chips until evenly distributed and no more dry ingredients remain visible.
  6. Drop by 2 tbsp. on cookie sheets, leaving at least 2 inches of space between.  Bake 12-15 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through, or until golden brown and lightly crisped at the edges.
  7. Let cool several minutes on baking sheets before moving to racks to cool.
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    elenasc said,

    Oh, man, thank you for this… it’ s true, some day I just want to bake cookies, and I wanna try this recipe!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

