Breakfast Pizza

Dinner for breakfast… for dinner?  Breakfast pizza seems to be experiencing its “15 minutes,” so to speak.  I became obsessed with the concept of trying it out after I saw a breakfast pizza mentioned on Food Network’s “Best Thing I Ever Ate,” by some chef or another.

Entertainingly, this pizza didn’t even come out quite like I meant it to.  I was planning on having provolone cheese, canadian bacon, regular bacon, shallots, tomatoes, and eggs.  I was so exhausted last night that I completely forgot about the shallots and tomato, and the regular bacon was still in the deep freeze.  So it was more a ham, egg, and cheese pizza, but still totally delicious.

I’ve heard that most people don’t have problems with their eggs running all over the place, but I sure did!  This time I tried anchoring them by putting slices of cheese over the eggs, but I’ll have to work something out next time.  I might use shredded cheese and try to create little “nests” for the eggs, or a bell pepper ring, an onion ring, something.

Breakfast Pizza (serves 2-4)

Ingredients:

  • 1 12-16 oz. ball pizza dough (I used whole-wheat from Whole Foods, and when I find a nice, chewy, whole-wheat recipe, I’ll share it)
  • 1 c. your favorite pizza sauce
  • 6 oz. thinly sliced or shredded Provolone (or your favorite)
  • 4 oz. Canadian bacon, cut into large pieces
  • 4 oz. bacon, cooked and cut into pieces
  • 1 onion or 8 shallots, sliced thinly and briefly sauteed
  • 2 tomatoes, thinly sliced
  • 4 eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450, or heat up the grill.  Roll out pizza dough and lay on a baking sheet.  Spread pizza sauce over the dough.  Place two-thirds of the cheese over the pizza sauce.
  2. Evenly spread Canadian bacon, bacon, shallots, and tomatoes over the cheese.  Crack the eggs directly onto the ingredients.  Add the remainder of the cheese.
  3. Cook in the oven 10-15 minutes, or until crust has browned, eggs are cooked, and cheese is melted.
  4. If you’re going to grill the pizza, roll out the dough, oil lightly, and place on the grill for about 7 minutes.  Flip the crust over and lay out the ingredients as specified above, then close the grill over and cook another 7 minutes or so.
Leave a Reply

