Goat Cheese-Mascarpone Fig Ravioli Hack

Whole Foods had a sale on mascarpone cheese a couple of weeks ago and, it generally being prohibitively expensive for what’s really sort of a gourmet condiment, I don’t usually buy it.  This was a 2 for 1 sale, so I was excited to pick up two tubs, but didn’t really have a clue what to do with them.  Surveying the fridge and realizing I also had a huge log of goat cheese and a package of wonton wrappers that I’d bought ages ago, I thought I would make a goat cheese and mascarpone ravioli.

My thought was that the mascarpone would even out the sharp taste of the goat cheese to make a tasty filling, and I was right, though it was still pretty sharp and goaty – but then, I like goat cheese.

Dinner was delicious, but not very attractive, so I chalked it up to one more blog post I wouldn’t be able to write with a picture, but after we’d forked up the last of the ravioli, we looked at each other and said, “man, I’d love to have more of that.”  Luckily, I’d made way too much filling, so, after thinking all we needed was a sweet element, I set to work.

So why is this a ravioli “hack,” you ask?  I guess you could also call it a “cheat,” and it’s because it’s not actually a filled pasta.  In boiling water, wonton wrapper ravioli are notorious for splitting and some of the filling spilling out into the boiling water, so I said, “screw that, I’ll just place the filling on top.”  It was pretty rich, so a smaller plate than we ate should go a long way.

Goat Cheese-Mascarpone Fig Ravioli Hack (serves about 8 for dessert, I’d guess, or 3 for dinner and dessert, or 4 for a dinner portion leaving out the fig)

Ingredients:

  • 1 package wonton wrappers
  • 4 oz. goat cheese
  • 4 oz. mascarpone cheese
  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 c. fig spread, melted, if making dessert
  • freshly grated Parmesan, if making dinner
  • melted butter

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, combine cheeses, zest and juice of the lemon, salt and pepper.
  2. To make filled ravioli, place about 1 teaspoon of filling onto the center of one wonton wrapper.  Brush edges with water or egg, and then top with another wonton wrapper, trying to squeeze out air bubbles.
  3. Bring a pot of water to boil, salt generously, and then turn down to a medium boil (as opposed to full, rapid boiling).  For filled ravioli, place ravioli into the water and cook until ravioli float and are tender.  For the “hack,” just place wonton wrappers into water separately, waiting several seconds between each one so they don’t stick.  Cook until they are tender, just a few minutes.
  4. For filled ravioli, divide between plates.  For dinner portions, brush with melted butter and sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese.  For dessert portions, toss wonton wrappers in a little melted butter to keep them from sticking together.  Then crumble goat cheese mixture on top, followed by a drizzle of the melted fig spread.
Leave a Reply

