Shrimp Creole

I don’t have any fancy introduction or theorizing on food for this one.  We had some frozen baby shrimp and a can of San Marzano pureed tomatoes, and wanted to make shrimp creole, star entree of the four-hour dinner I once made for my parents on their anniversary.  Ooookay so the dinner was only supposed to take one hour to make and as I recall, my parents weren’t totally thrilled that it took four times as long.  I don’t remember how the food was, either, but I remember it was the first and only time I’d made shrimp creole, until tonight.

I’m not sure how authentic this is.  My guess is, mostly, but maybe there are a few things that aren’t quite right.  I don’t care because it’s yummy.

Shrimp Creole (3-4 servings)

This stuff is spicy!  Not the immediate, sharp, burn your tongue kind of spicy.  In fact, I may have over-spiced it because when I tasted it, it was pretty mild.  However, the heat builds very quickly and we ended up needed to take a break in the middle of our bowls and make a piece of buttered toast for each of us to eat with the rest of our dish.  So, even though the recipe specifies 2 tbsp. creole seasoning (and I added about another teaspoon or so at the end of the recipe), you may want to tread lightly, or just add less cayenne pepper to your spice mix, if you make your own.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp. creole seasoning, divided (I got my recipe from Nola Cuisine)
  • 1 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1/2 – 1 c. white wine (I didn’t actually measure this out)
  • 1 14 oz. can crushed tomatoes in puree
  • 8-10 medium fresh okra (or about 3/4 c. chopped)
  • 1/2 lb. baby shrimp (I’d maybe double this if you love your seafood; I just used what we had)
  • 2 c. cooked white rice

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a medium saute pan over medium heat until shimmering.  Add onion, bell pepper, celery, and garlic.  Cook five minutes, or until vegetables are beginning to soften.
  2. Stir in 1 tablespoon of the creole seasoning, and cook for several minutes, or until fragrant.  Add tomato paste and cook several minutes, until beginning to brown.
  3. Turn heat up to medium-high, and add wine.  Cook until wine has evaporated, and then add crushed tomatoes and one cup of water, along with the remaining tablespoon of creole seasoning and okra.
  4. Cover, and simmer about 15 minutes, or until sauce has thickened somewhat and okra is tender.  Add shrimp and rice to the sauce, and simmer for about five minutes, or until heated through.
4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    DELICIOUS!!!! I want some now!!! Love your pics and your blog!

    • 2

      Amanda said,

      Thank you – I’m glad you like it. I took a look at your blog too and, without saying too much, I can say that I totally relate!

  2. 3

    Thyme2Cook said,

    You are very close to accurate for a low country shrimp creole. The trinity of onions, green peppers, and garlic are consistent with many southern “Creole” dishes. Some include okra, some don’t. Almost all are served over rice (as in a smothered dish) rather than incorporating the rice (as in a pilaf or jambalaya). I obtained Emeril Lagasse’s ‘Essence’ Creole seasoning recipe years ago (before he was a celebrity chef and make it up in batches. Less is more – you can always add, but it’s really hard to take it out!

    • 4

      Amanda said,

      Wow, thanks, that’s great to know! Mmm, jambalaya, there’s another thing I haven’t ever made before and should try out sometime!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

