Revelation: Blueberry Cheesecake Frozen Yogurt

If my late teens were a discovery of learning how to cook different foods, and if my early twenties were a discovery of loving breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries, and so on, then my mid-twenties are a discovery of loving dairy.  Like many people, there’s been some dairy standbys that I have always loved: milk (nonfat, please), cheddar cheese, mozzarella, cottage cheese (large curd only), cream cheese, sour cream, ice creams, and big, fluffy clouds of whipped cream.

Now, if you’ll notice, these are all readily available in the US, and generally speaking are among the mildest, nay even blandest of flavors.  In fact, it hadn’t really occurred to me until right this moment how American and how bland my tastes had run in this particular area.  Almost embarrassing when I think of how international my tastes normally are, how spiced and spicy I can take my food.

Though I ate some versions of sugared kids yogurt as a youngin’, I found that I liked neither that or most cheeses as I grew up.  Even Brie, that so-mild of “exotic” cheeses, was too funky for me.

In the last several years, I have been exposed to many kinds of cheeses and I began to realize that there are some that I actually like.  From triple creme french cheeses to semi-soft cow’s milk cheeses, sheep’s milk manchego and other similar hard, sharp cheeses, goudas, jacks, havarti, fresh mozzarella.  But all of these paled in comparison to goat cheese.  When I discovered this soft, bright white tangy cheese, I fell in love.

Having conquered cheese, I wanted to move on to yogurt.  I had tried and liked Wallaby Australian style yogurt, drinkable in texture, but even then I couldn’t eat them very often.  Their very “yogurt-ness,” that odd tanginess somehow bothered me.  Then I tried Greek yogurt, and all of those objections just flew out the window.  Even the non-fat Greek yogurt has a texture just like full-fat sour cream, and I thought the taste was sort of similar.  Milder, but still a little tangy, and dreamy texture.  I just knew it would make an amazing frozen yogurt, and I was right.

Blueberry Cheesecake Frozen Yogurt (makes 1 quart)

Now, for the record, I don’t really think this tastes like cheesecake.  I think it would require more cream cheese in proportion to the Greek yogurt, and next time I make this, I would increase the cream cheese and the sweetener slightly, beat them together, then slowly add Greek yogurt to incorporate well, and swirl in a blueberry compote instead of whole berries.  I did whole berries this time only because it would have taken too long to let the compote cool before mixing.

Also, this frozen yogurt, like my earlier sorbet recipe, did freeze very hard.  Still working on this problem.  I think low-sugar recipes are tough to make a good texture.  As I mentioned before, a splash of vodka might help, too.

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 4 oz. light cream cheese
  • 6 tbsp. nonfat milk
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 c. blueberries

Directions:

  1. Beat first five ingredients together until mixed thoroughly.  Chill approximately ten or fifteen minutes, longer if ingredients have come to room temperature.
  2. Freeze in an ice cream machine, and when yogurt has thickened, add blueberries to the machine until evenly distributed.  Place into a container and freeze several hours, or until scoopable.
Leave a Reply

