Gingered Zucchini Bread

I’ve made zucchini bread before.  Most zucchini breads are really nothing more than glorified cake – lots of butter (or oil), sugar, eggs, white flour, and perhaps one little zucchini grated in there.  Zucchini’s in season now, and I’ve been wanting to bake, so I opted to redesign zucchini bread, and so here is the very first baked good I’ve ever presented an original recipe for.

It’s a dark, very moist, honey-kissed bread with as much zucchini as batter.  It’s not a perfect recipe, yet.  Next time I would probably reduce the amount of honey and agave, because the flavor was a little intense and sweeter than I was hoping for.  I’d reduce the oil.  I’d double the cinnamon and chop the candied ginger less finely.  Finally, I normally don’t like nuts in my bread, but I think walnuts would greatly complement both flavor and texture of this bread.

You can definitely play around with what sweetener and dairy you use.  I used a combination of honey and agave because my honey is fairly strong, and agave is milder.  If you substitute a granulated sweeter, add a little more liquid.  I used Greek yogurt because it was what I had on hand, but regular yogurt or buttermilk would work well.

Gingered Zucchini Bread (makes 2 loaves)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. medium-grind cornmeal
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 c. Greek yogurt
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 c. agave nectar
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1/3 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 c. candied ginger, minced
  • 1/3 c. flax seeds
  • 6 small zucchini, shredded, excess moisture squeezed out

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour two loaf pans, or grease and then line with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together yogurt, eggs, agave nectar, honey, and vegetable oil until well blended.
  4. Add dry ingredients and stir until almost blended.  Add flax seeds, candied ginger, and zucchini, folding until well-distributed and dry ingredients are fully blended.
  5. Divide between both loaf pans.  Bake 45-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  6. Let loaves cool in their pans for 10 minutes, then turn out onto racks to cool completely.
Leave a Reply

