Sweet Potato… Something

Hm, I seem to be missing a photograph for this.  I had a bunch of little sweet potatoes and some other ingredients I thought might go together well, so I thought I’d experiment and the result was actually pretty interesting.  Sort of like a sweet potato souffle or custard.  I think I actually only ate it cold for breakfast, so I can’t comment on how the texture holds up warm, but I would probably bake in individual ramekins if I was going to do that.

Sweet Potato… Something (makes 1 8-inch square pan)

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 smallish sweet potatoes, peeled and diced, about 3-4 cups
  • 1 can coconut milk (I used low-fat)
  • 1/2 c. maple syrup
  • 2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300.  Lightly grease an 8-inch square pan.
  2. Place sweet potato cubes in a medium saucepan, and pour coconut milk over.  Bring up to a boil, lower heat, and simmer until sweet potatoes are cooked through, around 10 minutes.  Do not drain!
  3. Use a potato masher to mash sweet potatoes in the coconut milk until smooth.  Alternatively, remove sweet potatoes and pass through a ricer, then remove to coconut milk and stir in.
  4. Let cool ten to fifteen minutes, then add remaining ingredients and stir until well-combined.  Pour into prepared baking pan.
  5. Bake until lightly browned and puffing up on the edges, about 20-30 minutes (I think – I made this in April!)  Let cool before serving.
Leave a Reply

