Kiwi Granita

Last week, I stood in front of my fridge, dropping three more kiwis into my produce drawer and shaking my head.  Oh, sure, I could have just eaten them raw – kiwis are perfectly good raw.  But for me, part of this whole CSA project is to see if it’s possible to use fruits and vegetables in a way I might not normally consider.

For example, because I received both carrots and cauliflower with their greenery still attached, I searched the internet for evidence that they could be eaten, and, indeed, both can be eaten!  Cauliflower greens are rarely if ever sold with the heads, but apparently are quite tender and sweet.  Carrot tops are more bitter and herbal.  Who knew?

Well, back to the kiwis.  Browsing on foodblogsearch.com is my new obsession, as it searches thousands of food blogs for whatever food or dish you want to make.  This is what I found:

Kiwi Granita (three 1-cup servings)

Note: I used kiwi fruit only, but if your fruits are on the sour side, or if you’d like a sweeter, more icy textured granita, add simple syrup to taste before freezing.

Ingredients:

  • 8 kiwis
  • simple syrup, optional

Directions:

  1. Scoop meat of the kiwi fruits into the bowl of a food processor.  Pulse until pureed.  With food processor on, add simple syrup, if desired.
  2. Pour into a shallow pan and place in the freezer.  Every 10-15 minutes, scrape the mixture with a fork until it is all frozen into icy crystals.
  3. Scoop into bowls – I served with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt.
Leave a Reply

