Weeks Four and Five

  • 3 kiwis
  • 3 red potatoes
  • 2 oranges
  • 2 Meyer lemons
  • 1 bunch turnips
  • 1 bunch mustard greens
  • 1 bunch collard greens
  • 1 head napa cabbage
  • 1 fennel bulb
  • 2 jewel yams
  • 2 kiwis
  • 2 oranges
  • 1 bunch rainbow chard
  • 1 bunch Italian parsley
  • 1 bunch red leaf lettuce
  • 1 fennel bulb
  • 1 acorn squash
  • 1 white grapefruit

I still haven’t made the kiwi fruit granita, but now that I have almost ten of them, I think I should get moving!

Last week, I made Spicy Spaghetti with Fennel.  I did photo it, but as a brown-on-brown dish, it wasn’t terribly photogenic, although amazingly tasty.  Paired with lemonade made from those Meyer lemons, it was a pretty perfect dinner.  I’m just too lazy to post about it right now, and I’m already behind on my posts, so I’ll get to it some other time.  Same with the Corned Beef and Cabbage (boiled, then baked with mustard sauce) – except I, um, didn’t even photo that – too busy eating it.

On the menu this week:

  • Artichoke and Leek Pizza
  • Saag Aloo (Indian-style greens and potatoes: I’ll use a mixture of collards, mustard greens, and spinach)
  • Orange Scones
  • Kiwi and Coconut Muffins
  • Scalloped Potatoes with Fennel, Chicken Parmesan, sauteed garlicky chard
  • Tuna Noodle Casserole with Leeks and Fresh Dill
  • Acorn Squash and Goat Cheese Pizza with Spinach
  • Sweet Potato Gnocchi, and some vegetable to be determined…
  • Grapefruit Yogurt Cakelets with Broiled Grapefruit Supremes

…and, oh yes, I will be eating all of this on a pretty restricted diet.  We’re talking 1200-1500 calories per day, and so far this diet hasn’t been the easiest thing in the world, but I manage to eat pretty well most days anyway.

Leave a Reply

