Late Again!

I know, I know, I’m just behind on everything!  Well, not everything.  I’m up to date on my homework, and J and I have cleaned the house top to bottom today.  Still, I’m behind on my weekly cooking, since we spent so many evenings out of the house last week.  I’ve still got a lovely beet risotto in my sights for tomorrow, lemon ginger chicken with sweet potato latkes tonight, and cajun chicken with buttermilk mashed potatoes and a tangerine/jicama salad for Thursday.

Still, this means I have an incredible box of produce this week that I have to find places for!

This week we got:

  • 2 bunches baby lettuce – I think baby romaine and green/red leaf
  • 1 bunch red beets
  • 1 bunch celery
  • 1 bunch green onions
  • 1 leek
  • 1 delicata squash
  • 1 onion
  • 2 potatoes
  • 1 artichokes
  • 3 kiwifruit
  • 3 Meyer lemons (!)

Now, this is eleven – ELEVEN – different types of produce, 3 more than we’re supposed to be getting, and man, I am far from complaining.  I’m especially excited to see artichokes, which I am a little afraid of, and Meyer lemons, which must be used for something very special.

Meyer lemons are more expensive that regular lemons, in large part because their zest is so much more floral than a regular lemon.  Next time you see Meyer lemons in a grocery store, compare them to a regular lemon.  The texture of the skin is smoother, the color of the skin is more orange, and the scent is definitely stronger.

This week:

  1. I invited my family to dinner on Tuesday, so instead of changing my meal plan, I can now make bi-colored beet risotto, using my bunches of both golden and red baby beets.
  2. The green onions will probably be incorporated into the mashed potatoes as well as on whatever other dish amuses me.
  3. Artichoke and Leek pizza, lemony and garlicky and awesome
  4. I’ll probably stuff the delicata squash with a mixture of chard greens and spicy sausage.
  5. Kiwifruit granita?  Yes, I think so.

And now, what to do with those Meyer lemons… what to do, what to do, what to do… I’m thinking:

  • Meyer Lemon Goat Cheesecake with
  • Meyer Lemon Curd
Leave a Reply

