Veggie Box: Week Two

So, I was just a little less excited about getting my veggie box, mostly because everything that was in my box last week (except for the chard) we get on a pretty regular basis, and I was hoping to get some more unusual items.  Still, I drove on down to the farm to see what was waiting for me, and was definitely pleased!

Yes, the lighting is weird in this photo.

In this week’s box:

  • 1 bunch green leaf lettuce
  • 1 bunch rainbow chard
  • 1 bunch some other small-leaved, tender lettuce – I’m guessing romaine
  • 1 bunch flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 bunch rapini (a.k.a broccoli rabe)
  • 1 bunch orange carrots
  • 1 bunch small golden beets
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 Braeburn apples
  • 2 “mandarin tangerines,” according to the list – not sure which they are – I think mandarin oranges

Of course I ended up not eating the green leaf lettuce last week (oops) so now I have two bunches and the baby romaine to make into salads, so I’d better get munching.  I also have an awesome looking menu to get the best out of this produce:

  1. Beet Risotto with Chard
  2. Cajun Chicken/Whitefish, Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes, Tangerine & Jicama Salad
  3. Parsley Pesto Pasta with Crispy Garlic Rapini
  4. Pot Roast
  5. Tangerine Upside-Down Cake
  6. Apple Slices with Homemade Caramel

I also notice that I’ve been ah, a bit tardy and behind schedule – recipe for curried quinoa coming soon, if I can remember to photo it before eating the leftovers…

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tammy McLeod said,

    One other thing to check out when you are getting overloaded on greens or any other item is the notion of green smoothies. These are hugely popular amongst the raw foodists and by blending the produce, it really works down to a much smaller amount. You can use the beet greens, chard, letter, parsley, carrots, beets, apples or tangerines. It’s a wonderful way to get 5+ a day with minimal effort. (and tons of recipes on the web)

    • 2

      Amanda said,

      That’s a great idea! I’ve heard about smoothies people make with spinach and other greens that taste fruity, but I’ve never tried one myself – I’ll have to do that sometime.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

