My First CSA Box!

I was pretty excited driving out to the local farm, just a mile from my house.  There were about a dozen orange chickens walked around in the area in front of the yellow building where we are supposed to pick up our boxes.

In this week’s box:

  • 1 bunch green leaf lettuce
  • 1 bunch chard
  • 1 bunch rainbow carrots
  • 2 red onions
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 3 green pears
  • 4 lemons

The green leaf lettuce is going into salads for my lunch.  The menu for the rest of the week includes:

  1. Italian Wedding Soup (chard)
  2. Maple Muffins with Carrots, Pineapple, and Raisins
  3. Arroz con Pollo (onion)
  4. Carbonnade [Beef and Beer Stew] (onion)
  5. Roasted Pears with Vanilla (pears)
  6. Lemon Ginger Chicken/Catfish (sweet potatoes, lemons)

I haven’t decided exactly which side dish to make out of the sweet potatoes yet, but I’m sure I’ll figure out something later in the week.

Leave a Reply

