A New Direction

It has occurred to me several times that the main reason why I never really get started blogging regularly is because I feel that what I’m saying just isn’t really interesting enough.  Making the food is of paramount importance to me, and frankly, I often find I’m too busy stuffing my face to take photos, never mind blog about it.  Embarrassing?  Yeah, maybe, but I find that’s the usual way of things.

Still, I want to get my voice out there for some reason, in the hopes that someday there might be a few readers attracted with whom I could have conversations with in comment strings on subjects of my own choosing.  Of course there are already thousands of food blogs out there, so how to set myself apart?  I don’t know, but I am trying a new tactic.

When it comes to vegetables, I consider myself sort of average.  I like some of them well enough, but have found that generally, I keep myself to about a dozen of the usual suspects: broccoli, carrots, corn, garlic, green beans, tomatoes, zucchini.  Sure, I’ve branched out into some other more “exotic” specimens: beets, butternut squash, eggplant, leeks, pumpkin, shallots.  But when it comes to some vegetables, I am simply clueless, or haven’t found a way to enjoy them yet: most leafy greens, radishes, most squashes, brussels sprouts.

This year, one of my main goals is to get on a much healthier eating path.  I’ve been fairly successful so far; pushed red meat to a once or twice per week habit, added fish once a week, and eat two vegetarian meals weekly.  We’re choosing yogurt over ice cream (usually), healthy fats, and trying to incorporate fruits and veggies of all colors in a variety of ways.  It is this last that primarily will inform this space from now on.

I’ve decided to join my local CSA, and I’ll be getting one medium size box (7-8 types of produce, enough to feed 3-4 or so it says) every week.  From there, I’ll be making meal plans and trying to learn how to incorporate each vegetable in a way that is delicious and satisfying.  Along the way, I’ll be trying to learn some classic French techniques that I know will aid me well in my attempt to cook anything and everything.

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

