New York, New York!

Hm.  I’ve really got to get more creative with my titles, huh?  I know.  Anyway, this post comes at a good time for me.  My spring semester has just ended leaving summer and my master’s paper stretching before me.  In four days, I move back home to beautiful California, visit Washington, DC for a few days, and then go camping.  The rest of this week, I’ll be out and about (and eating, of course) in Boston.

The most buttery, delicious, incredible matzoh ball soup.

The most buttery, delicious, incredible matzoh ball soup.

However, I couldn’t post at all and not mention my trip to New York.  After all, it’s the most interesting culinary spectacle I’ve had since I moved to Boston, my kitchen not really conducive to gourmet meals (except maybe that polenta lasagna, mmm).  Really, it was a trip about meat.  A lot of people have an ambiguous relationship with meat, but for the most part, I do not.

This is a goat meat taco.  The meat was a little too dry, and slightly gamey, but with a little salt and chipotle sauce, out of this world.

This is a goat meat taco. The meat was a little too dry, and slightly gamey, but with a little salt and chipotle sauce, out of this world.

I think meaty, salty things are just delicious, and knowing that you can get anything you want in New York, I set out to experience as many types of cuisine as I could get my hands on while there.  I wasn’t as successful as I would have liked, but I got my hands on: gorgeous, thick slices of lox, my first chopped liver ever, fresh gefilte fish, chopped herring, goat meat, tripe, and authentic Roumanian pastrami.  Some of these were delicious, some I could do without.

Is this not the most enormous sandwich?  This is only half!  And for like $12, its not bad.  This is, by the way, not MY sandwich, but I tucked into mine so fast it, um, wasnt real pretty by the time I decided to take a picture.

Is this not the most enormous sandwich? This is only half! And for like $12, it's not bad. This is, by the way, not MY sandwich, but I tucked into mine so fast it, um, wasn't real pretty by the time I decided to take a picture.

Leave a Reply

