I Left My Tart in San Francisco

Strawberry Tartlets

Strawberry Tartlets

Okay, okay, no more food puns.  Probably.  I am starting this in anticipation of moving back to San Francisco at the beginning of next month.  Right now I am in Boston, finishing up my Master’s degree, and then it will be back to my home state for good.  I wanted to start a food blog because I have been inspired by other food bloggers lately (under Links in my sidebar) and I love both making food and photographing it.

I am an absolute amateur, but both cooking and photography are hobbies of mine, and I’ve been doing both for about three years now, cooking even longer.  I actually started baking cakes and cookies out of an old Better Homes and Gardens recipe binder we had lying around the house when I was about 10 years old.  Shortly afterward, I stopped cooking, only to begin again at age 18, starting as simply as chicken breasts and boxed macaroni and cheese.

When I had mastered a small variety of very simple dishes, I decided that I needed to start eating healthier food, and also got more creative and more curious about food.  I started watching Food Network, and quickly became hooked.  The days I bought my tongs, my food processor, and my ice cream maker were proud days for me.

Since I don’t have a great kitchen or any good cookware right now, I thought I would just go ahead and start off with some photos of the first food I made for “company.”

Muffins that eat like a Doughnut

Muffins that eat like a Doughnut

Too bad this recipe doesn’t appear to still be available online, or at least I couldn’t find it.

 

Later skewered, with honey

Cheesecake-lets

Cheesecake-lets

Leave a Reply

